top of page
Search
Writer's pictureWei Kang

English is Meh



 

My name is Weikang Huang, but I prefer to be called Wei. In Chinese, my name means bravery and healthy. I’m currently a freshman. My family and I moved to LA when I was 6 years old and have resided in LA ever since. There's more about me here.

The last English course I took was AP English Literature in my senior year of high school. It was a class revolved around many discussions between other students to cooperate and create ideas as a team. I enjoyed having the freedom to talk to my peers not only because it relieves a lot of pressure off of me, but I can meet new friends in the process. I feel pressured from English courses because I’ve always hated reading, and I still do, but I’ve grown more accustomed to it. To me, writing is a hit or miss. I either love to write or hate it; it’s mainly predicated on whether I have good thoughts or not. I’ve learned from the college application process good writing can’t be forced. Writing college essays was also very refreshing for me; for the first time, I found joy in an aspect of English. The time available was a great benefit for my college essays since I had months to develop the best version.

I scored an 82/100 on the diagnostic questionnaire. What gave me the most trouble was writing in a consistent tense. It’s a struggle for me to identify tense mistakes as I tend to make all of those mistakes in my writing, so I hope to improve on that throughout this quarter. Though, I did do well on the grammar portions of the questionnaire, something I’m proud of because my grammar used to suck.

In this course, the focus is on our progress in writing and the improvements along the way. It is an interactive course as we will have group projects and receive feedback from both our peers and Professor. The ultimate goal is to enhance our skills as a communicator, not just as a reader and writer. In the end, we will showcase our journey in Writing 39A with our website/portfolio. The grade contract ensures students will earn a minimum grade of a B if they complete all required assignments. The quality of work submitted will determine if students earn a grade higher than a B.





2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page